Can't say what it is, maybe I'm becoming more and more dull to it all, but it seems like I'm in a worse position than last year, yet feeling better about myself and my overall position in school and life. Honestly things are just the same, if not worse. Perhaps it was because last year I had such strong determination from the start to set things straight after my academic failures the semester and summer previous, and I guess I really did feel more motivated overall, and disappointed when things took a turn for the worst. I really think I am just getting comfortable with my situation, and dull to it's many flaws, so poor performance is less noticeable and more easily managed. Unfortunately, I'm feeling less than ever, and for some reason that translates pretty directly to time passing at blazing-fast speeds. I feel like from the get-go I was putting in significant effort, but that this was always accompanied by a passage of time too fast to keep track of. It doesn't feel so long since I had a handle on things, and I think a good deal of my problems right now revolve around just that point.
Anyway, now that i've gotten that random babel out of the way, I guess it's best to catch up from where I left off...Like I said earlier, I'm feeling less than ever: things that have always tended to excite my, make me nervous, invigorate me are useless to elicit their usual effects. I quite more hopeless in that category that ever before. That even includes my feelings towards Jess: right now I could honestly go either way as far as remaining with her or breaking up, and that's really a sad prospect, if not a progressive-minded one seeing as Jess seems very unstable at the moment as it is. My grandma died not far into the semester, and I'm sure that got in the way of me starting things off on the right foot...It was a real test of my current emotional state as well: I was pretty darn stoic throughout most of it and really didn't feel much at all, but when circumstances were intense enough to pierce that protective shell, it all poured out at once. Regardless, I never REALLY felt emotionally, logically much in regards to her death...I guess lack conscious awareness is the best way to characterize it. Even now, it tough for me to grasp and "feel" that she's dead.
I guess I'm just really good at building up protective barriers and diverting my negative energies into alternative outlets lately. One of the greater moments I experience this semester...I might have called it an important turning point in the days I held my life in great enough esteem to make a big deal of the happenings and positive changes...but to continue...the best moment recently was probably the valentine's day recovery I made after the great flop on the day of. Jess really surprised me this year: she never really does much, but this time around she made me chocolates...got me a really nice heart-felt card...and a, well kinda odd, but sweet book with quotes from older couples that have been together for 50 years or more...one of those inspirational little books at the end of the card isle at CVS. I guess she even got up early and parked on the grass, fighting through all the other last-minute-lovers to pull the package together lol. I mean, not to discount her, but she DID make chocolates for all her friends though, and was helped and motivated to do so by her aunt. So, I mean, having this as a center-piece really helped give her the push to pull together something special. Me, on the other hand, I guess I was still feeling a little let down from Christmas. We kinda agreed that we weren't getting each other anything, but that just didn't feel right: it had been so long since I had done something special and meaningful for jess that I couldn't help myself and got her a few things related to our then-great interests of watching pokemon episodes while drinking wine....and I made her a heart-felt card to go along with this poke-package.
I guess we DID agree we weren't doing anything for each other, but it saddened me that she didn't harbor the same desire to express herself...So I guess with valentine's day I felt we were even, and on a logical level so did she, but emotionally she wasn't ok with it, and made that pretty obvious the night of. Not that I didn't try initially...I DID set out the day of, uh skipping my classes :-/, looking for a large stuffed bear and, really I didn't even know what else to go along with it, though I had a few half-baked ideas. After this proved fruitless, however, I, frustrated, looked back upon Christmas with a somewhat of a feeling of validity for not having anything for her when all was said and done. We went out for a nice dinner at Little taste of texas, which turned out to be not so nice of a dinner seeing as everything we being served cold and after a substantial wait, despite the fact that few people were there. But anyway, she was quite temperamental through the whole thing, and fought to just go home afterward...alone...when we were supposed to see a movie together. But anyway, that was a thursday, and by next sunday I made it up to her by making her a nice heart-felt card...giving her a nice pen...and I can't remember what else lol but it was sufficient to cheer her up. In the card, or while writing it, I came to the revelation about, as I had put it, how very much I was being like the turtle and hedgehog, the two animals I like the best: the former in how I hide in my shell from all the displeasing things that are happening around me, which leaves me emotionally disconnected from my life and those closest to me, and the latter in how I'm quick to protect myself, or even fight back, when i feel threatened lol as anyone who has a hedgehog knows well of them.
So yea, to come full circle, that was a great revelation about myself, and should have been an important step in recovery so that I'm not sitting here, again, wondering how I've gotten myself in such a great academic tangle once again, why I feel more empty than ever, and how time seems to be passing faster than ever before. I can see how it happened, this semester, too. First, I get a 60 on my PNB exam...after going to every class, doing every reading, and studying and preparing for it. That led me to first, lose motivation to succeed in that class as best as possible, and to no longer participate in class since it seemed useless to do so. Physics I stopped attending rather rapidly, first because I'd been through the first couple weeks three times already, them because of the need to complete English readings, and finally because I was so far behind in the class itself to feel it was hopeless to attend. This last point centered mostly around not getting the homework done in time for the wednesday class, and not being prepared enough to attend the friday class and take the quiz....English...yeah...it was all about the readings and then not having completed the paper...that's all there is to that....I feel like when I was with it all, however, I was making some rather strong headway, participating often and at least finishing enough of the reading to know what was going on. The cognitive psych lab I've attended all along...mostly because I had to, especially because the group depended on me. It's really my strongest class right now, and I need to finish this final paper for it to wrap the whole thing up in a sturdy package...plus it's very directly connected to my major....so yeah...it's very very important, but nothing I can't do tonight...somehow...when i get the motivation and time stops leaking away....
Finally anthropology....I got an A+ on the midterm and the interesting professor left and was replaced by a more boring one who didn't know how to make much of his notes he left for her. And, in light of everything else (and by everything else I mean the second english paper) it didn't seem so important to attend to. Im just hoping the midterm isn't so bad and the material not so tough to memorize in the time I had, but I have high hopes that the A will stick :-)...just don't like that I let-down the same professor two semesters in a row...but I'm sure she's already over it lol. Not that I got much done the times I've skipped...just looked at shit I shouldn't and talked to larissa too much for the most part. Larissa is another important element of this semester...or at least she started off that way. Talking to her really gave me the person to vent to that I lacked the past couple years, which was great and, at time, has helped me to discover my "soul" once again: the unobstructed self through which important insights and positive feelings about life and what important steps to take within it comes from. Not to belittle her role in all that, but it wasn't real due to anything she's said, but more because of my own reflection expressed to her and through this the releasing of parts of my that have been trapped inside my candy-coated shell for far too long...but anyway time to get to work I suppose...once again it is getting late far more rapidly than I'd want to admit :-( and I've spent too much of this recapping not-so-recent happenings rather than really putting down what's now on my mind..about focus, and motivation, and fate and destiny...choosing to be a part of life and the tools it hands you when you do so....how you become a tiny vortex of change and progress when this happens...if only this was true, because God do i need it right now....more tomorrow hopefully...